Tags

, , , ,

O.M.G.  I have just eaten the most spicy curry EVER (Vindaloo from the takeaway has nothing on this one!)  Made by my fair hand (of course!), but I think I might have overdone the crushed chillies and fresh ginger.  You know as you’re eating it, and you’re reluctant to stop because you’ve just spent an hour cooking it, but actually it’s pretty torturous?  No?  Really?  Hmmmm!!  For me it wasn’t helped by rice being the highest scorer on my food intolerance rating, so it really was just the curry with nothing to take my mind off the molten lava experience in my mouth.  Having said that, chillies are supposed to have pain killing attributes, and the mild headache I had before dinner has gone now.  Maybe it was worth the torture!

OK, so you think you’re hard?  Then I challenge you to have a go at this (it’s actually delicious – if you don’t like them too hot adjust the spices though.  If you do like them blow your head off hot, then follow the recipe to the letter!)

Here is the original recipe https://iquitsugar.com/recipe/coconut-thai-curry-with-chickpeas/.  Obviously I’m always missing certain things in my cupboard from the list, so I improvise.  I also can’t seem to leave garlic out!

1 clove garlic, sliced
2 inches ginger, grated
1 can coconut milk
1 carton chopped tomatoes
2 tsp crushed chillies
4 large mushrooms, quartered
Half butternut squash, cubed
Handful cauliflower florets
Handful of fresh coriander
Can chickpeas
2 tbsp nutritional yeast

Chuck the garlic, ginger, coconut milk, tomatoes and chilli in a large casserole dish (seriously, if you’re not keen on spice, only put 1/2 to 1 tsp chilli and 1 inch ginger in there – you’ll thank me later).  Heat up until bubbling then add the vegetables and stick in the oven for about 20 minutes at about 180 c.  Stir in the chickpeas, coriander and yeast and cook for a further 20 minutes.

Confession – I had to put a large dollop of CoYo on it to actually be able to eat it 😀

And nutritionally speaking (which you’d expect from a nutritional therapist!), it’s packed full of fibre, protein, good fats, vitamins and minerals.  You can always rely on me for that!

Enjoy xxx

