Tags

, , ,

OK, so I’ve been trying out lots of recipes for wheat and dairy free goodies in the last few weeks.  My ultimate favourite has got to be chocolate coconut squares (and if you want to know more about them go visit my website).

But last night I decided to try out Elana’s Pantry Paleo Girl Scout Peppermint Cookies (original version here).  Her version are dairy and wheat free, but I had to change the recipe slightly, partly because I’ve cut out nuts for now, since they came up high on my food intolerance test, and partly because I didn’t have some of her ingredients.  My version are so scrummy I’m not sure how I managed not to eat more than a nibble last night (And I know hers look a lot posher than mine, but she’s been doing this longer than I have!  I’m working on my presentation skills!).  My only lament is that they weren’t ready until bedtime, and I don’t tend to eat this sort of thing during the week (it’s a control thing!) so will have to wait now.  But roll on the weekend, because I am going to enjoy these every munch of the way.

So here we go – give them a try, you won’t regret it.

1/2 cup gluten-free oat flour (grind oats to a fine powder)
1/2 cup gram flour
1 tsp coconut flour
2 tbsp raw cacao powder
⅛ teaspoon rock salt
¼ teaspoon bicarb of soda
2 tbsp grass-fed butter
¼ cup maple syrup
1½  tsp peppermint extract
100g dark chocolate (preferably soya free and with sugar the lowest on the ingredients list) – or make your own (more on that another time)

Mix together the flours, cacao powder, bicarb and salt
Add butter, maple syrup and 1 tsp peppermint extract and mix into a dough (use a food processor – it’s much easier).
Lay a piece of baking parchment on the side, pop the dough on it, and cover with another piece of parchment.  Roll out until the dough is at desired thickness (the thinner the dough the more biccies you get!).
Freeze for 15 minutes, then cut into desired shapes.
Bake at 180°C on a parchment lined baking sheet for about 4 minutes.
Cool and then freeze for about an hour.
Melt the chocolate and the rest of the peppermint over a low heat, then dip each biscuit in the chocolate until covered.
Place on a plate lined with baking parchment and freeze until hard.
Keep in the freezer so they stay crunchy.
Don’t say I didn’t tell you how delish they are!

